top of page

Max Perutz Wandbild

Audioguide
00:00 / 03:17

Das Max Perutz Wandbild befindet sich im dritten Wiener Gemeindebezirk an der Außenmauer der Max Perutz Labs (Rennweg 95A), einem Forschungsinstitut mit Schwerpunkt Molekularbiologie, das von der Universität Wien und der Medizinischen Universität Wien gegründet wurde. Es ist nach dem in Österreich geborenen Nobelpreisträger Max Ferdinand Perutz benannt.

 

Das Wandbild ist 25 m x 28 m groß und zeigt Aspekte aus Perutz' Leben, seinen wissenschaftlichen Methoden, und den Naturwissenschaften.

Das Mural wurde von den Künstler:innen Käthe Schönle und Sebastian Schager in Kollaboration mit WIENERWISSEN und den Max Perutz Labs verwirklicht. Es wurde im Oktober 2022 fertiggestellt.

Lesen Sie weiter um mehr über Perutz' Leben und dessen Entdeckung zu erfahren.

MaxPerutz.jpg

PERUTZ' LEBEN
& WIENBEZUG

21_Max_hirschegg_1968_Kopie.jpeg

Max Perutz, geboren in Wien, gewann 1962 den Nobelpreis in Chemie. Er und sein Kollege John Kendrew waren die Ersten, die die atomare Struktur von Proteinen beschreiben konnten. Perutz untersuchte Hämoglobin, jenes Molekül, welches Sauerstoff von unseren Lungen zu unseren Organen und Muskeln transportiert, und welches unserem Blut die rote Farbe verleiht. 

Perutz hatte Chemie an der Universität Wien studiert, bevor er 1936 nach Cambridge, England, zog, um an seiner Dissertation über Hämoglobin zu arbeiten. Von Jüdischer Herkunft, wurde Perutz im zweiten Weltkrieg zum Flüchtling, und erlangte die Britische Staatsbürgerschaft. Nichtsdestotrotz blieb er Österreich verbunden, speziell den Bergen, dem Schifahren, und den österreichischen Dialekten.

Perutz wird oft als Vater der Strukurbiologie bezeichnet, der Wissenschaft von der dreidimensionalen Form biologischer Moleküle. Er stellte die Zusammenhänge zwischen Struktur und Funktion eines Moleküls her, sowie jene zwischen strukturellen Änderungen und Krankheiten. Er gründete und leitete das Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, welches eines der erfolgreichsten Labore aller Zeiten werden sollte, und welches mehr als ein Dutzend Nobelpreisträger hervorbrachte.  

Perutz starb 2002. Das Wandbild befindet sich an den Max Perutz Labs, welche 2005 nach Perutz benannt wurden. Hier untersuchen Forscher nach wie vor die spannendsten Fragen in Molekular- und Strukturbiologie.

Max Perutz beim Schifahren in Hirschegg, Vorarlberg, 1968.
Credit: Perutz Family / Max Perutz Labs

KS.jpg

Die Künstler:innen

Das Max Perutz Wandbild wurde von Käthe Schönle und Sebastian Schager gestaltet und umgesetzt.

 

Sebastian Schager ist Künstler und Kurator in Wien. Er studierte Kunstgeschichte an der Univ. Wien, sowie Graphik und Kommunikationsdesign. Er realisierte etliche Murals, ist Kurator der MQ Vienna StreetArtPassage und des Artist in Residence Program, und ist Gründer von “ARTIS.LOVE”, des Kollektivs “PERFEKT WORLD”, der “Jan Arnold Gallery” und der „Leap Art PRINTS (Print Art Editions).

Käthe Schönle ist Künstlerin in Wien. Sie studierte Freie Kunst und Visuelle Kommunikation an der Kunsthochschule Kassel mit Abschlüssen in Malerei und Illustration.
 Ihre Arbeiten wurden seither in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen national
 und international gezeigt und sind in privaten und institutionellen Sammlungen vertreten. Schönle erhielt mehrere Stipendien und Förderungen, darunter den Kunstpreis der Stadt Kassel.

DAS MAX PERUTZ WANDBILD WURDE DURCH DIE UNTERSTÜTZUNG UNSERER PARTNER ERMÖGLICHT

The logo of the Max Perutz Labs in Vienna
The logo of the University of Vienna
EU_Flag_Logo.jpg

The European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 101017902.

bottom of page

top of page

Max Perutz Mural

Audio Guide
00:00 / 03:22

The Max Perutz Mural is located at Rennweg 95A, in the 3rd district of Vienna, on a wall of the Max Perutz Labs, a research institute focused on molecular biology that was founded by the University of Vienna and the Medical University and named after the Austrian-born Nobel Prize winner Max Ferdinand Perutz.

The mural is 25 m x 28 m and weaves together many different aspects of Max Perutz' life, his research techniques, and the natural sciences.

The mural was developed by artists Käthe Schönle and Sebastian Schager in consultation with the WIENERWISSEN Team and the Max Perutz Labs. It was completed in November 2022.

 

Scroll down to read more about the life and science of Max Perutz and artists behind it.

MaxPerutz.jpg

PERUTZ'S LIFE
& A VIENNA CONNECTION

21_Max_hirschegg_1968_Kopie.jpeg

The Vienna-born Max Perutz won the 1962 Nobel Prize in Chemistry with his colleague John Kendrew for determining the structure of a protein. Perutz studied haemoglobin, which is the molecule that transports oxygen from our lungs to our muscles and organs, and gives blood its red colour. 

 

He studied chemistry at the University of Vienna, and then moved to Cambridge, England, in 1936 to start his PhD researching haemoglobin. Jewish by descent, he became a refugee a few years later, during World War II, and eventually gained British citizenship. Nevertheless, he spoke often of his love of his native Austria, the mountains, skiing, and of course the idiosyncrasies of the Viennese people. 

 

Perutz is often considered the father of structural biology, the study of the three dimensional structure of biological molecules. He linked the structure of a molecule to its function, and its malfunction to disease. He also founded and led the Laboratory of Molecular Biology, in Cambridge, England, which became one of the most successful labs of all time, producing more than a dozen Nobel Prize winners.  

 

Perutz passed away in 2002. The mural is on the site of the Max Perutz Labs, which were named in his honour in 2005. At this site, researchers continue to tackle some of the most interesting questions in molecular and structural biology.

Max Perutz setting off skiing during a protein workshop in Hirschegg, Vorarlberg, in 1968.
Credit: Perutz Family / Max Perutz Labs

KS.jpg

THE ARTISTS

The motive for the mural was developed by artists Käthe Schönle and Sebastian Schager in consultation with the WIENERWISSEN Team and the Max Perutz Labs.

 

Sebastian Schager is an artist and curator based in Vienna, Austria - working in various artistic and commercial fields, he is highly acclaimed in the Street Art/Urban Art Scene and realized several large dimensioned Murals (up to 300 sqm) in the last decade and collaborated with national and international brands. He is the curator for the MQ Vienna StreetArtPassage and Artist in Residence Program, Founder of “ARTIS.LOVE”, Founder of Art Collective “PERFEKT WORLD” and “Jan Arnold Gallery” and „Leap Art PRINTS (Print Art Editions)

 

Schager studied Art History (University of Vienna) and has a degree in Graphic and Communications Design.

Käthe Schönle is an artist based in Vienna, Austria - working in the fields of painting, drawing, collage and printing. Her work has been shown in numerous solo and group exhibitions nationally and internationally and can be found in private and institutional art collections. Schönle received several grants and Artist Residencies, including the Art Prize of the City of Kassel.

 

Schönle graduated with honors from the Kunsthochschule Kassel, Germany, where she studied Fine Arts (Painting) and Visual Communication (Illustration).

THE MAX PERUTZ WALL MURAL WAS MADE POSSIBLE THROUGH THE SUPPORT OF 

The logo of the Max Perutz Labs in Vienna
The logo of the University of Vienna
EU_Flag_Logo.jpg

The European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 101017902.

bottom of page